Return to site

Huda Zoghbi and Mohamed Sayegh elected to the Lebanese Academy of Sciences (Press Release date: December 31, 2013):

· Press Releases

The ASL elected Professor Huda Zoghbi and Professor Mohamed Sayegh of the American University of Beirut as Full Members of the Lebanese Academy of Sciences.

broken image

Professor Huda Zoghbi is Investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, serves as Director of the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children’s Hospital. She holds the Ralph D. Feigin Chair at Baylor College of Medicine where she is also a professor of Pediatrics, Neurology, Neuroscience and Molecular and Human Genetics. Dr. Zoghbi is considered a leading neurogeneticist in the international community and has made many seminal discoveries in neurological disease research. Zoghbi’s interests range from neurodevelopment to neurodegeneration. She was elected to the Institute of Medicine in 2000, and in 2004, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

broken image

Professor Mohamed Sayegh is currently the Raja N. Khuri Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Vice President of Medical Affairs at the American University of Beirut. Dr. Sayegh is a world leader in transplantation, renal medicine and transplantation immunobiology research. In his field, he has made substantial and landmark contributions. He has published over 200 original articles in addition to a large number of reviews, editorials and book chapters. He has also edited several books in nephrology and transplantation.